2024-04-29

long time no see, again! i likely haven't been as introspective as i maybe should have been these past few months. ah, whatever. and now, as soon as i'm sitting down to type out this little stream of consciousness of mine, i'm thinking about how i want to redo the coding for this page. especially so it's more easily accessible on mobile. oh my gosh, trying to view the content of this page on mobile is an absolute nightmare, and it always bites me in the butt. last time i went thrifting, which was four days ago, i saw some degrassi: junior high dvds at value village. i know that i have a few dvds of it at home already, so i was trying to see what ones i had already on my thrift finds section. alas... i was hardly able to access it because of how i have things set up. and that just won't do! i'm not necessarily overly concerned with mobile functionality for a lot of my pages, just since i doubt many people are necessarily trying to view my wishlist on their phones, for instance, but i always try my very best to implement that functionality on anything informational or educational. this namely comes in the form of my resource pages, such as my bookmarks and my 3ds homebrew page, but also in the form of my björk shrine. i am still so unendingly proud of that thing. this is all to say: changes coming to the layout of this page, maybe, possibly.

in other news, one of my biggest fixations lately has been typology. it's gotten to the point where i almost struggle to talk about my understandings of characters without bringing up their functions, if that serves as any frame of reference. i'm a little too shy and insecure in my knowledge to properly dispense my viewpoints on somewhere like personality-database, but i might add some pages here about it just to share it with you all. i dunno, i think it's fun! and i certainly have some... polarizing typology opinions, to say the least. for example, lola pacini from degrassi is typed as an esfp 7w6 729 on pdb, which i disagree with down to almost every number in her tritype! i believe her to be an esfj 2w1 268. and i have explanations for all of this beyond me being self-indulgent, i'm just perpetually trying to research more so i can articulate myself without looking like or feeling like a fool.

i've also been watching the tribe lately! i've finished s1 and as of writing, i've completed 7 episodes of season 2. i'm really enjoying myself so far. jack is the most beloved of all time. and dal is my son. and i love tai-san dearly. and alice. oh, heavens, i love them all. who am i if not getting completely enthralled by something that's really niche? (especially granted the younger userbase that neocities lately seems to be skewing towards, which... gosh, you know what, i suppose i'll speak about it now)

one thing i've really observed about neocities as of late is the increasingly younger age that neocities tends to skew towards. and i want to preface any and all of my thoughts with the understanding that i do not, in most ways, perceive this as a bad thing. coding is a wonderful world, and i always want younger people to explore their skills and create something wonderful. that being said, i do laugh to myself when people have something as banal as genuine "do not interacts" on their sites. this isn't a social media profile? people are going to interact with your site whether you like it or not, and that is the nature of being online. furthermore, i was in a bit of a rut lately based on what i've observed about neocities lately. i don't really love the feed. i mean, i love it in the sense that i like seeing what everyone has updated on their sites, granted that i am a very forgetful person and have only a few sites wherein i genuinely remember to check if they've updated, but it gets rather misused. i don't really care to see people liveblog their own streams of consciousness onto my feed. in an ideal world, the feed and feed posts would be mainly for site updates. i suppose that comes hand-in-hand with how neocities delivers their feed updates when you change things on your site. perhaps if the window of time between new feed posts when you've edited was a bit shorter. but there are times wherein i will edit my site on two separate days, and yet i don't get a feed update because it wasn't the full 24 hours between. it's really not ideal. alongside that, because of what i view as the neocities userbase (at least the userbase i am exposed to) getting increasingly younger, i feel... alienated, in a sense. i just remember there being so many adult webmasters when i first started this site that i was inspired by, and now i almost feel surrounded by children. again, i don't think this is a bad thing, and i wouldn't want neocities to be an adults only zone. maybe i need to find a webring or something. i'm not really speaking about this in here to frame it as an issue, but more so just working through something that has been... eugh, i don't know if i'd say bothering me, because it's really not an issue, but something like that.

anyways! back into my hole of watching the tribe and listenong to björk i go. oh, actually, one more thing. i had a couple of people send me emails about some coding/site related sutff, and i got super excited about it. so send me an email, if you want! my site email is support@kayla.care. i'd love to hear from you. okay, that's all from me. be good to each other. all is full of love.